Life Lessons

I Hope You Dance

20130713-213839.jpg

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.
I hope you dance….I hope you dance

After the Big Event of shoulder surgery and the countless hours of PT tedium had come and gone, I still had shoulder issues. Nothing aligned right, everything was creaky, my hips hurt because my shoulder hurt because my body had endured one insult too many. I still maintain the surfing lesson broke the camel’s back. But the fact remained: I was achy and I needed to do something about it.

I wondered what’s the most fun I could have loosening up my hips and shoulder?
So of course I thought of belly dancing.

Not exactly the first thing that people conjure up when thinking of me, I imagine, but no matter, it seemed like the thing to do and when a Google search revealed a new studio just a mile from home, I felt the universe had spoken.

I took my creaky self off to that studio and found love. Who knew bum joints could yield a community of remarkable, funny, engaging women of every imaginable size and shape? Who knew Tuesdays would become sacrosanct as I joined the girls for an hour of jiggle?

So bitten was I, I even took a performance class and my sons dutifully endured an afternoon of many sized and shaped be-sequined women doing their thing on the Spectrum stage. And I realized then that while I loved, really loved, the art, I didn’t really love the performance. Somehow dancing as if no one was looking was harder when the whole point was to dance for people who were looking.

And not that the joy went out of it, but suddenly Tuesdays weren’t sacrosanct and other things impinged. I still shimmy in the shower, still find those hip moves the best thing going for my shoulder, but I’ve dropped the classes and, sadly, misplaced most of that community.

But the knowledge that I can find fun remedies for troublesome challenges stays with me. That, and the tittilating pleasure of watching friends’ and colleagues’ reaction when the answer to the inevitable ice breaker “the thing most people wouldn’t know about me” is that I’ve been a belly dance performer.

Life Lesson #3: the hip bone’s connected to the head bone and the more you move the former, the better for the latter.

~ ~ ~

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder,
You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger,
May you never take one single breath for granted,
GOD forbid love ever leave you empty handed,
I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens,
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.

I hope you dance….I hope you dance.

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance,
Never settle for the path of least resistance
Livin’ might mean takin’ chances but they’re worth takin’,
Lovin’ might be a mistake but it’s worth makin’,
Don’t let some hell bent heart leave you bitter,
When you come close to sellin’ out reconsider,
Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.

I hope you dance….I hope you dance.
I hope you dance….I hope you dance.
(Time is a wheel in constant motion always rolling us along,
Tell me who wants to look back on their years and wonder where those years have gone.)

I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens,
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance,
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance.

Dance….I hope you dance.
I hope you dance….I hope you dance.
I hope you dance….I hope you dance..
(Time is a wheel in constant motion always rolling us along
Tell me who wants to look back on their years and wonder where those years have gone)

Lee Ann Womack

4 thoughts on “I Hope You Dance

Leave a Reply

