In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth.

And the earth was without form, and void; and darkness was upon the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God moved upon the face of the waters.

And God said, Let there be light: and there was light.

And God saw the light, that it was good: and God divided the light from the darkness.

And God called the light Day, and the darkness he called Night. And the evening and the morning were the first day.

Where does any story begin? Few have the definitive arc of Genesis — especially those stories of our own telling. Where we choose to start a story seems part art, part editorial license, part lack of imagination. Does it matter?

On the 100th day of my new life I’m unsure where my stories of this “new normal” actually kick in. So much goes so far back. Today is as much the 10,000th day as the 100th. Doesn’t all of that deserve some discussion as well? Aren’t all decisions grounded in years of experience and hopes and fears? Who am I to say why I make any choice now, outside the choices I have already made? Isn’t all of that part of the story too?

Imagining this blog, I thought I might create a “Backstory” category for those momemts and reflection (not to mention those Life Lessons) that came before January 1, 2015. And since I’m busily cleaning and purging files, revisiting material I have not seen in years, I even pictured including previously-unpublished writing. (We’ll see about that. Stay tuned.)

As I began to draft new blog content, I realized that much of what I am doing and thinking now has as much claim to “backstory” as anything penned prior to the new year. And so my idea about the category grew and morphed. I thought, That is as it should be. Where are our outcomes written except in our own minds?

So, see what you think: the Context, the Land Before Time, the Backstory.  [You can see the “Backstory”  category in the menu hidden on the left (click on the three parellel bars at the top left of each page)].

As I so often said in work, there is always backstory. Myself included.

6 thoughts on “Backstory

  1. Hi dear one, I am thoroughly enjoying your writing, however, rule number one for a blog is to not post too often. You will need to pace yourself to maybe a blog a week, so we can savor the meaning – if you move too quickly then you may lose your audience if you want us to actually participate in your wisdom, rather than just read your words.

    I hope that makes sense to you, and know that is just the opinion of one!

    BIG hugs and love!

    Jill

    Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor

    drjill@drjilltaylor.com Author: My Stroke of Insight, Inc

    “Stay soft and the world will soften with you.” Dr. Kat Domingo

    Like

    1. Thanks Jill – I am learning so much already from this effort, including seeing the wisdom of your own “rule number one”! Thank for sharing that guidance — see you in a week! 🙂

      Like

    1. Thanks, Anne. I am struck that we all have so many interesting stories to tell, long and short, with much back story or not. All important.

      Like

Leave a Reply

