Uncategorized

Naming is Framing is Empowering, or Not

What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet.

I beg to differ.

I’ve been paying attention to labels and language this week. And I’m here to say the Bard got this one wrong. It matters what we call things and especially how we frame ourselves in relation to them.

My community of reflection is focusing on our uses of “just” and any of the innumerable other ways we assault ourselves and our efforts with the micro-abrasions of diminution: I’m just a beginner. Well, I’ll try… as if our being new at something, or inexpert, takes anything away from the value and valor of our enterprise.

Do. Or do not. There is no try.

I think Yoda gets this one right, but maybe not in the way the Jedi master meant. Trying is doing. We diminish trying when we see and frame it as less than a genuine effort or opportunity to build strength or skills. Say “try” and mean “bravely enhance” and see how different that feels.

onward
Name Your Frame: Incoming clouds spoiling the view, or spectacular sky showcasing a great adventure?

Rather than “I’m just a beginner”  I’m working on “I‘m bravely going where I’ve never gone before.”

Wanna come?

2 thoughts on “Naming is Framing is Empowering, or Not

Leave a Reply

