Back Story

Blue Skies Shining on Me / Nothing But Blue Skies Do I See

A crystalline azure sky just about guarantees my good mood. I can’t nurse a grudge, can’t fester, can’t fuss. I feel engulfed by the color, warmed by the sun, lightened in every way.

My personal sound track kicks in, always with Eva Cassidy singing:

Blue skies shining on me

Nothing but blue skies do I see

Bluebirds singing a song

Nothing but bluebirds all day long

And this is what I love about the internet: two minutes, and I have countless alternative takes on this Irving Berlin classic. Try Ella Fitzgerald. I can practically picture her in a sun-drenched, daisy-strewn field, scatting, joyful. Or Willie Nelson, who gets all folksy. Even the World Youth Chorus  gives it a whirl in their 2008 concert in China. (Okay, so I’ll confess: this version doesn’t really do it for me, but the point is that there are innumerable ways to experience and celebrate Blue Skies and I love that.)

In his guided meditation, Andy Puddicombe talks a lot about blue skies. A charming animation offers reassurance that blue skies are always there, even when all we see is clouds. It’s a useful reminder.

So I look up, and even when the skies are dark and maybe not so crystalline or azure, I think — no, I know — the blue skies are there anyway. It’s a useful reminder.

I was blue, just as blue as I could be

Ev’ry day was a cloudy day for me

Then good luck came a-knocking at my door

Skies were gray but they’re not gray anymore


Blue skies

Smiling at me

Nothing but blue skies

Do I see


Bluebirds

Singing a song

Nothing but bluebirds

All day long


Never saw the sun shining so bright

Never saw things going so right

Noticing the days hurrying by

When you’re in love, my how they fly


Blue days

All of them gone

Nothing but blue skies

From now on


I should care if the wind blows east or west

I should fret if the worst looks like the best

I should mind if they say it can’t be true

I should smile, that’s exactly what I do

Blue skies shining on me

Nothing but blue skies do I see

Blue birds singing a song

Nothing but bluebirds from now on

Leave a Reply

