Back Story, Making a List

Making a List, Checking it Twice

Once upon a time, I dismissed lists as mind-numbingly prescriptive, yawningly obvious or both; borne of the tiresome territory of grocery stores and overdue thank you notes. But I’ve come to appreciate the value of a good list. That economy of information; an externalized catalog of my inner thoughts; a source of immediate gratification with each item achieved and crossed off; the crutch of middle age.

It would be the ultimate list: a list of lists’ merits. I’m not sure I would presume to generate such a thing, but I would certainly start with:

  • Keeping Track – Just the facts, when and where you need them.
  • Being Clear – Beyond facts lie desires. Lists help us articulate and solidify our elusive dreams. Just the dreams, when and where you need them.

I created my “Making a List” category as a challenge to myself. Could I create interesting, inventive lists that dissect and reflect on everything from a favorite book to my daily habits?  We’ll see.

But forget anything I might have to say and read The Checklist Manifesto. If you’ve ever been inclined to dis the list, this will shut yer trap. Lists save lives.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Just because: I thought something about the post should be vaguely about Christmas….
Leave a Reply

