Uncategorized

Like Warm Honey and Liquid Sunshine

When I show up at my old office, as I am wont to do since I consult there often, I am usually greeted with some version of “You looked so relaxed!” Amazing what a little change in lifestyle will do.

For true relaxation, nothing beats the hard work of meditation. Sitting still and not thinking may not look like work, but it calls for real effort. It takes practice and I’m definitely still learning.

My favorite guided meditation with visualization involves imagining liquid sunshine streaming down from above, filling me with a clear, spacious glow.SAM_2394

For me, the image is actually more like warm honey — sweet, full-bodied, glistening. Golden. A timeless fortification pouring into and through me. I can feel it filling each toe, rounding off the sharp edges of my ankles, moving up the length of my calf to the heft of my thighs, my belly and chest, reaching my shoulders and cascading in a delicious rush down past my elbows and into each and every fingertip.

It comes up the back of my neck, softening my jaw, warming, soothing, massaging each muscle and surface as it goes. Across the back of my eyes, I feel the last vestiges of tension melting away.

That’s the theory, anyway.

But this is a practice that takes practice, so the reality is often more like:

I can feel it filling each toe, rounding off the sharp edges of my ankles Hubcap. I need to replace the hubcap. Wonder where – oopsy: thinking!  moving up the length of my calf to the heft of my thighs, my belly hmm breakfast isn’t sitting so well. oh – thinking … and chest, reaching my shoulders and cascading in a delicious rush down past my elbows and into each and every fingertip. It comes up the back of my neck, softening my jaw, hmm: a little tense ..uh, stay with me…warming, soothing, massaging each muscle and surface as it goes. Across the back of my eyes …stay with me...I feel the last vestiges of tension melting away…ahhhhh….

I am filled, but lightened. Replete, expansive, spacious, capacious. I feel complete and yet still more receptive. Luscious. Luminous. Lovely.

5 thoughts on “Like Warm Honey and Liquid Sunshine

Leave a Reply

