BloggingU, Life Lessons

Pick A Teacher, Not Just Any Teacher

Listen to Lea, by Virginia Harabin
Listen to Lea, by Virginia Harabin

V. is a wise woman. Just sayin’.

She wrote to me recently, “What’s working for me now that didn’t work in the past is that now I choose my friends and associates — I follow what impresses and inspires me and try to get in front of the greatest teachers.”

The topic of discussion happened to be dog training, but I think she’s onto something universal.

In fits of contrarian pique, in college I declined to take classes with marquee lecturers because they were popular, overlooking the fact that they might have been popular for really good reasons. The child of educators, I was weened on the sanctity of good teaching; you’d think I’d have extrapolated.

Gradually, finally, over time, have I come to appreciate the value of mentors, the potency of intentional and cultivated relationships, the power of my associates.

They should teach that in school.

Life Lesson #21: Get in front of the greatest teachers.

2 thoughts on “Pick A Teacher, Not Just Any Teacher

Leave a Reply

