Life Lessons

I Was Juror #21

I was Juror #21, in pools of 20, from which 12 were selected, which is to say: I did not serve.

The court clerk, a pleasant and affable man of indeterminant age, assured us that our presence was not in vain. That simply by convening, by being ready for jury duty, we had supported the scales of justice, moving cases to closure, parties to resolution.

Still, it is a dissatisfying thing to be summoned and then only to sit. I reminded myself that sometimes one’s presence is all that is needed.

—–

We are working on listening deeply in U.Lab. This is much harder than most of us will admit as we are all very fond of our own voices. I search for a metaphor to help me sustain my practice.

I think: nature abhors a vacuum – as does conversation.  We rush to fill the space.

But I don’t have to fill the space. I can just let it sit, between us. Then the other may move into it, and in so doing, she will find a safe place to say what she needs to say. And I can listen, deeply.

Sometimes one’s presence is all that is needed.

Life Lesson #23: Sometimes one’s presence is all that is needed.

2 thoughts on “I Was Juror #21

  1. Ah….the Quaker is deep within you, my friend.
    There is so much wisdom in listening deeply and not trying to fill the vacuum. A very difficult task for all of us, every day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

