Life Lessons, Making a List

Six Months and a Few Reflections

SAM_2358This is post #64 in my little Listening to the Universe experiment. Twice a week, every week, for six months, come hell or high water. I’m actually pretty proud of that.

Six months in and some things are still very much the same. I began with Life Lesson #1: The unexamined life isn’t worth living. This, my friends, is still true. I might even say ever so much more so. Blogging has given me a way to examine my life that is reliably, simultaneously demanding and rewarding. I continue to learn a lot from crafting and sharing these posts. They force me to focus, discern, reflect. Growth, twice a week, whether I like it or not.

And, six months in, some things are pretty different. I’m more confident in my experimentation. Less self-conscious; more playful. I’m thinking bigger – even contemplating a design overhaul that would allow me to take the blog in some different directions. I think: could I do something meaningful — and fun — around #fittestever? What about a whole subsection on scavenger hunts and strategies for engaging with one’s world, akin to my Serendipity Challenge? Why not?

It’s this new Why Not mindset that I cherish most. Those of you who have known me the longest know that’s not a place I’ve easily gone before. But go I do – and it’s good. In the parlance of my U.Lab course, I can feel the edges of the future that is wanting to emerge.

I’m straddling that divide between old and new. Embracing my many teachers along the way. Appreciating they can come in the most unexpected forms. Still trying to learn from experience while seeking the transformative.

And in case you haven’t caught them all, these are my accumulating Life Lessons. An interesting list, if I do say so:

  • Life Lesson #1: The unexamined life isn’t worth living.
  • Life Lesson #2: You are never too old to learn new tricks. (In compiling this list, I discovered this one gets a rerun at #13.  Repetitio est mater studiorum.)
  • Life Lesson #3: The hip bone’s connected to the head bone and the more you move the former, the better for the latter.
  • Life Lesson #4: It matters less that you have a plan than that you have a strategy.
  • Life Lesson #5: Old age is not for sissies.
  • Life Lesson #6: Don’t just do something. Sit there.
  • Life Lesson #7 – a compound lesson from five days with a camera:
    • I really appreciate opportunities to see things through a different lens (literal and figurative).
    • Not all days or images lend themselves as readily to the task.
    • Not everything proves interesting, but it is all worth considering.
    • This is like soccer: you have to keep shooting to score.
  • Life Lesson #8: Life begins at the end of your comfort zone. ~ Neale Donald Walsch.
  • Life Lesson #9: A good walk is a very good thing.
  • Uh-oh – busted: I missed Life Lesson #10!  I owe you one.
  • Life Lesson #11: Awe favors the mindful.
  • Life Lesson #12: We all have a story to tell. Probably more than one.
  • Life Lesson #13: Never too old…  (sound familiar??)
  • Life Lesson #14: It’s okay if it’s hard.
  • Life Lesson #15: Knowing is half the battle.
  • Life Lesson #16: Go toward the fear.
  • Life Lesson #17: With an eye made quiet by the power of harmony, and the deep power of joy, we see into the life of things. — William Wordsworth
  • Life Lesson #18: It ain’t over ’til it’s over – just be sure you’re the one to decide when it’s over for you.
  • Life Lesson #19: Only that day dawns to which we are awake. ~ Henry David Thoreau
  • Life Lesson #20: Life is what you make of it.
  • Life Lesson #21: Get in front of the greatest teachers.
  • Geez – again?! I missed #22…maybe I should be rethinking this post…
  • Life Lesson #23: Sometimes one’s presence is all that is needed.
  • Life Lesson #24: Nothing is stronger than habit. ~ Ovid
  • Life Lesson #25: The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.
10 thoughts on “Six Months and a Few Reflections

Leave a Reply

