Life Lessons, Making a List

Take 5 @ 3

No doubt you have seen the video of the Accenture employees in Mumbai who take five minutes at the start of each day to dance.  I’m a sucker for this sort of thing. When I am Queen of the Universe, we’ll all start our days with dance.

Some years ago I tried to launch a five-minute break in the middle of the afternoon in my office – my singular effort to push back against the doldrums and the general confines of office decorum.

Didn’t happen.

I did manage to pull it off, once, when some portion of my colleagues joined me in the elevator lobby to boogie with Pharrell at 3:14 one Pi Day. When I left that job it was one of the stories recounted in the farewell party, an example of the kind of workplace colleagues hoped we would have.

Sadly, I never managed to make it a habit. But you can!  It’s not too late!  So simple…5at3

  1. Pick a time, any time.  I think of 3 pm as the afternoon dead zone. Doing something disruptive right then offers the opportunity to re-energize the day.
  2. Let people know it’s coming and then make good on the promise.
  3. Press play. Any music that makes you want to move and elicits a smile will do. Just be sure it’s loud enough to hear down the hall.
  4. Start dancing. Do this whether anyone is there or not.  On that day in mid-March I was alone in the corridor when the music started – but not for long.

Life Lesson #26: It might seem crazy what I’m about to say/ Sunshine she’s here, you can take a break ~ Pharrell Williams

One thought on “Take 5 @ 3

Leave a Reply

