red : fire truck :: blue : ___________

A friend recently shared an article about diagramming sentences, a lost art we both loved in adolescence, a place where we found comfort in the orderliness and structure of language that was lacking elsewhere. It got me thinking about my love affair with language in general and analogies in particular.

I may have been alone in my mourning, but I was sorry to see analogies go from the SATs. I loved parsing the comparisons, playing out the options. I didn’t always agree with the “right” answer. Who were those College Board writers, anyway?

Analogy is in the eye of the beholder. 

And therein lies the charm. We see the connections we see. Facets of an idea reflect back the light from others in ways that vary based entirely on our perspective. And analogies create relationships that might not otherwise be there. They encourage us to play, to expand our understanding of a thing, to rethink. Embracing someone else’s analogy feels especially intimate, a channel straight to the soul.

bjaw2At the end of each “Choose to be Curious” show, I ask my guests to make an analogy to curiosity. We draw words from an enormous mason jar, my Big Jar of Wannabe Analogies. There is no way to prepare and — unlike (ahem) the SATs — there are no wrong answers. I warn everyone this is coming, but there’s nothing quite like the moment you pull out a neatly folded slip of paper, read “ukulele” and face the mic in front of you.

No one disappoints. People come up with the most amazing insights. That, like jellyfish, curiosity can sting; that, like embers, curiosity bursts into fire when given just a little air. That popsicles require the same attention, rain offers similar cleansing power,  salt water taffy benefits from comparable patient savoring.

So the new year turned and I tried to think of an analogy for 2016, a year many of us were happy to see in the rear view mirror, even as we regarded 2017 with deep trepidation. I came up with this:  Curiosity is like 2016 because they have both taken me places I didn’t expect.

May 2017 be like curiosity as well: savor-worthy, playful like puppies, full of connecting like staplers, helpful as a spork!

Leave a Reply

