Choose to be Curious, UnComfort Zone

Wrestling with Questions

“Wrestling with the questions has allowed me space for me to work through the emotions, the thoughts, the processing… All of that comes through questioning, doing some journaling, and making my way through that challenge.” ~ Ken Woodward

We talk a lot about questions here on Choose to Be Curious. But talking about questions is one thing, really wresting with them is another. 

Ken Woodward not only curates questions, he leans into them. Big time. And that has changed his life in ways large and small that are an inspiration to me. I think they will be for you, as well. 

Pretty much all of my primary identities have been shaken — shaken to the core — and I’m getting tired of that. But I know that that’s awesome growth and I’m like, “Come on. Can I at least get to some point on some particular topic that I can look back at the first half century of my life that I was actually right on?”

Ken Woodward is creator of Curated Questions, a website and podcast. He harvests and shares powerful questions from innumerable sources. 

Wrestling with questions has led him to walk all 2,085 miles of Washington DC’s streets and alleys wearing a sandwich board emblazoned “Black and Brown Lives Matter” and has up-ended most of what he thought he knew about himself and the world around him.

He wouldn’t have it any other way…

Listen to Choose to Be Curious #228: Wrestling with Questions, with Ken Woodward

Check out Ken Woodward’s Curated Question website.

I was honored to be a guest on Ken’s podcast as it returned to production earlier this spring. Listen to our conversation on Mental Health Compassion and Choosing to Be Curious.

“Live the questions now. Perhaps you will then gradually, without noticing it, live along some distant day into the answer.” is from Rainer Maria Rilke’s Letters to a Young Poet.

Here’s the Miracle Question: “Suppose tonight, while you slept, a miracle occurred. When you awake tomorrow, what would be some of the things you would notice that would tell you life had suddenly gotten better?” Learn more about how the Miracle Question is used.

If you enjoyed this conversations, you might like these C2BC Classics: Poetry: Curiosity Emerging, with David KeplingerThe Human Library, with Ronni AbergelDialogues on Race & Equity, with Samia ByrdCuriosityConnects.Us with Philippa Hughes; and  Curiosity is the Gateway to Connection, with Mike Morales.

Theme music by Sean Balick; “Four Point Path“ by The Bulwark, via Blue Dot Sessions.

You can subscribe to Choose to Be Curious on Apple PodcastsSpotify or wherever you get your podcasts. 

Wear your curiosity on your sleeve. Check out the Choose to be Curious shop.

Sidewalk pavement with dandelion peaking through with quote from speaker " All I'm doing is providing the seed or kernel for that change to come about in your life, whatever that may be."

3 thoughts on “Wrestling with Questions

  1. To answer this, “Suppose tonight, while you slept, a miracle occurred. When you awake tomorrow, what would be some of the things you would notice that would tell you life had suddenly gotten better?”
    When I can walk with ease and the absence of pain in my lower back, thighs, legs, and feet. This is when I can tell that life gotten better. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment